14 December 2014

Motorsport Ireland weekend roundup

Fergil Gregory scored his second win of the season by getting the verdict on a tie-break in the GSMC O'Gorman Cup Sporting Trial at Brittas. After twelve sections, both he and Morgan Evans were level on 18 marks lost, with Gregory coming out the better by having stayed penalty free through six sections against his rival's four.

In a very close finish, two more drivers were within a single mark of victory, with John O'Reilly just shading Robin Taylor for third place, also on a tie-break.

Le Mann Driver Matt Griffin was announced as International Driver of the Year at the recent Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Awards. Johnny McMullan won the Dunlop Sexton Trophy and Dean Raftery won the prestigious Billy Coleman Award at the Awards Ceremony.

The Ivan Webb Memorial award for Most Outstanding Contribution to Irish Motorsport went to Pat O’Dowd from Wexford Motor Club who has been an integral part of the Irish motorsport community for many years. The JC Millard Memorial Award for Clubman of the Year went to Seamus Anderson from Mullinavat, Co. Kilkenny for his contribution to the sport.