13 October 2016

O'Connell clinches 2016 National Autocross Special Championship

With his victory on last Sunday's Imokilly Autocross, Ian O'Connell won seven autocross races out seven starts this year and he also clinched the 2016 National Autocross Special Championship, writes Austin Shinnors.

The Dubliner was at the wheel of his Hyabusa special, and while he set fastest time on his first run he suffered a flag penalty of five seconds handing the lead to Joe McHale (Hyabusa Special) with Ger Moloney third (Hyabusa).

O'Connell had no mistakes on the second run and set a time of 1.43.57 which was fastest time of the day. McHale was second (+3seconds) and Gerard Moloney third.

Nobody improved their times on the final run over the stubble field except Ian Byrne who passed Moloney to gain the last place on the podium. Moloney was fourth ahead of Sean Cahill and Paul O' Driscoll. The latter two drivers are top of the Munster Autocross Championship table and this result narrows the gap to nine points, with three races left.

Fermoy resident Lukacz Chapnik was fastest saloon in his Impreza beating the Nova of Rathkeale driver William Meade by 1.5s.

The next round of Munster Autocross is a gravel event  hosted by Birr MC on Sunday 20 November.

Times of all competitors in Imokilly Autocross on Munster Autocross Facebook. Pic by Ger Leahy.