17 May 2017

Munster Autocross Round 3 preview

The Clare Motor Club are running their second loose autocross of the year in Ballycumber, CoOffaly on Sunday next May 21st, writes Austin Shinnors

The Clare Autocross is the third round of the Munster Autocross Championship and the opening round of the National Autocross Championship (Loose).

Entries for Sunday's autocross are available from  Triona McGrath, 1A Moyglas, Crusheen, Clare. 0879822092 trimcgrath@hotmail.com by  Thursday 18 May 17. No entries will be accepted accepted on the day. Neither will Telephone entries  be accepted. The entry fee is  €100, while the Junior entry fee is €50.
In the Munster Championship there is a dead heat at the top of the leaderboard. Clareman Brian Hassett has 36 points and shares top spot with Corkman Paul O' Driscoll. Two other drivers from the rebel county are third and fourth: Fachtna O' Driscoll third has 26 points while Brian O' Mahoney has a total of 21. Tipperary driver and winner of the last round James Lahart trails O' Mahoney by a single point. In the saloon category Johnny Kenneally leads the way in his Subaru Impreza ahead of William Meade (Nova) and Ger O Connell (Celica).
Brian Hassett, pictured above, claimed victory on Round One. He will be looking forward to extending his championship on his home race next Sunday. Photo: Pablo Photography.

The 2017 Munster Autocross is supported by O’Shea Bus Hire, Barrett International Transport, Daly Motor Services and Pablo Photography.