2 September 2022

New MMAI motoring association formed

The Motoring Media Association of Ireland (MMAI) has been established to represent professional motoring journalists across print and digital outlets in Ireland, writes Trish Whelan. It is the result of a merger between the Irish Motoring Writers Association (IMWA) and the Association of Professional Motoring Press (APMP). 

Pictured above are motoring journalists who were present at the meeting.

The MMAI will be responsible for organising the annual Continental Tyres Irish Car of the Year and Continental Tyres Irish Van of the Year Awards, Ireland’s most prestigious and widely recognised motoring accolades for over 40 years. Only members of the MMAI are eligible to vote in these awards which determine the best new cars and vans to be launched each year. 

Officers appointed at the inaugural AGM of the new MMAI held in Dublin recently included Chair: Joe Rayfus; Vice-Chair: Daragh Keany; Secretary: David Walshe; Treasurer: Martin McCarthy; and PRO: Caroline Kidd. Leah Carroll and Michael Moroney were elected to the Awards Executive and will be joined by Joe Rayfus to oversee the planning and organisation of the annual Irish Car of the Year and Irish Van of the Year awards. John Galvin and Cathal Doyle were elected to join Daragh Keany on the Association’s Members Executive which will oversee membership criteria of the MMAI. 

Membership will be restricted to media professionals currently producing original motoring related content in Ireland, with membership eligibility reviewed on an annual basis. 

The MMAI brings together Ireland’s most experienced motoring journalists across print, broadcast, and online media, with members representing the full spectrum of national, local and online media. The new Association has been created to be modern and inclusive, with members from around the country working in the interests of motorists and new car buyers across Ireland. 

At the AGM, newly elected Chair of the MMAI, Joe Rayfus, said: “As a new association, we will build on the great traditions and values of our former organisations, while working together to represent all our members and ensure that now and long into the future the Irish Car of the Year and Irish Van of the Year Awards continue to be the most prestigious and highly regarded awards among the industry and consumers.”