5 February 2015

New O'Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championship for 2015

Padraig Egan powers on his Semog buggy to victory
The O'Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championship has a refresh for 2015, writes Austin Shinnors. The nine round championship will have seven races on gravel and two on grass.

There is a new event as Limerick MC rejoin the series after 17 years and Munster MC have a new date in June instead of the traditional St Stephen's Day. With three weeks between most events, the championship is now more user friendly for competitors and the organising clubs.

The series kicks off with the Skibbereen race on the day after St.Valentine's day with the  final eventl hosted by the Cork MC two days after Xmas. The two grass events will be in Killarney and Imokliiy. The former club will  host the Jimmy Devane Memorial Autocross during the  August bank holiday weekend while East Cork have their usual date in mid-October. Four of the Munster gravel autocrosses will be run in conjunction with the 5 Star Catering National Loose Autocross Championship 2015.

O'Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championship 2014

Padraig Egan had a terrific season in the SEMOG buggy. The Clare man lead from the first event, winning four races outright to accumulate 112 points. He became the first Clareman to lift the trophy. Killarney's Tom Daly was the runner up with 88 points while Whitby Moynan claimed last place on the podium. The Nenagh driver accumulated 74 points and was winner in the Clare grass autocross at the wheel of his more conventional Toyota Special. In sixth place was Denis O'Brien in his Nova who lifted the Overall saloon award while Mary O' Shea captured the Ladies award.

Ger and Mary O'Shea 
Speaking of saloons, Owen Murphy put in a few special performances that set the quarry world alight in the autumn. Fresh from winning the National Forestry Championship for a second time in his EVO9, the Corkman debuted a Subaru Impreza in the non championship Limerick event where he almost claimed victory. After Xmas Murphy won the two Cork races, beating champion Egan on St.Stephen's day at the Munster MC autocross and again the following day at the Cork MC autocross in Coachford.

Class Winners O'Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championship 2014
 1. James J Lehane (Civic)
2. Lukasz Chapnik (206)
3. Ger O' Shea  (205)
4. Austin Shinnors (Impreza)
5. Brian O' Mahoney (Toyota Special)
6. Peter Brennan (Special)
8. Mary O' Shea (205)

Dates of O'Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championship 2015:
Skibbereen MC Feb15th
Clare MC May24th
Munster MC June 14th
Skibbereen MC July 12th
Killarney MC Grass Aug2nd
Imokilly MC Grass Oct 11th
Birr MC Oct 15th
Limerick MC Dec 13th
Cork  Dec 27th.