27 October 2016

Mercedes-Benz E-Class is Irish Car of the Year 2017

The winner of the Irish Car of the Year 2017 is the Mercedes-Benz E-Class, write Brian Byrne and Trish Whelan.

The announcement was made at a Gala Dinner in Powerscourt Hotel in Co Wicklow, on Thursday night, hosted by the sponsors of the Award, Continental Tyres. It was accepted by Stephen Byrne, MD of Mercedes-Benz Ireland.

Category Awards were also announced. These included the Suzuki Baleno as the Small COTY; the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe (Medium COTY); Mercedes-Benz E-Class (Large COTY).

The Peugeot 2008 was selected as the Small SUV COTY; the Hyundai Tucson (Medium SUV COTY); the Ford Edge (Large SUV COTY) and the Ford Mustang (Performance/Sports COTY).

The Judging Panel comprised 33 motoring writers in Ireland. They made their final selection of the overall winner after the results of their Category Awards were tabulated.

Pictured are John Galvin of the ICOTY Committee, Ciaran Allen and Stephen Byrne of Mercedes-Benz Ireland, and Tom Dennigan of Continental Tyres Ireland.