25 March 2015

Clare Champion MD is Chairman of IMWA

John Galvin, Motoring Editor and MD of the Clare Champion, is the new chairman of the Irish Motoring Writers Association, following the AGM of the Association on Monday 23 March, 2015.

He succeeds Austin Shinnors, of Bruff, Co Limerick, motoring correspondent of the Veterinary Ireland Journal since the 1970s.

The other executive positions of the IMWA are now held by David Walshe (vice chair), motoring correspondent of EM - The Newspaper of ESB, Forum Newspaper (Meath) and owner of www.NetACar.ie; Bernard Potter (secretary), editor of Irish Motor Management and motoring correspondent in Irish Farmer’s Monthly; and Michael Moroney (treasurer), motoring editor of the Irish Farmer's Journal.

Padraic Deane is the chairman of the Van Jury of the IMWA for 2015.

It was the 39th AGM of the IMWA, which is the owner and organiser of the Irish Car of the Year and Irish Van of the Year awards, sponsored for decades by Continental Tyres Ireland and its subsidiary Semperit.

The Irish Car of the Year 2016/Irish Van of the Year 2016 Awards will be presented on Friday 20 November 2015.